Exam and Assessment Results

From 2016 all students and Schools will be measured on how much progress they make from when they start in Year 7 to when they complete their exams at the end of Year 11. This will be known as Progress 8.

Progress 8 - The Progress 8 measure is designed to encourage all students to study a broad and balanced curriculum.

The new measure will be based on students’ progress measured across eight subjects.

For each student the 8 subjects must be a combination from the diagram below.


The Progress 8 score will always be determined by dividing the points total by 10 (the eight qualifications with English and Mathematics counting double), regardless of how many qualifications your child sits or in which subjects.

Attainment 8 – showing the pupils’ average achievement in the same suite of subjects as the Progress 8 measure.

Basics Measure - If your child achieved a C grade or better in both English (either Language or Literature) and Mathematics.

EBacc Measure - The EBacc recognises the success of those young people who attain GCSEs, at grades A*- C in the following subjects – English, Mathematics, Geography or History, Science and a Language.

 Progress 8 Score (provisional)  -0.17
 Attainment 8 Score  48.35
 Percentage of pupils who achieved grade C or above in English and mathematics at the end of KS4. (Basics Measure)  54.4%
 Percentage of pupils who achieved the English Baccalaureate. (EBacc Measure)  6.6%
 Percentage of pupils entering for the English Baccalaureate. (EBacc Measure)  14.7%

Updated September 2020

Link to school and college performance tables